Dixon (Dixie) Howell


I was college prep at Cap and would probably have attended a State College had it not been for my baseball coach, Don LaClergue, and his predecessor at Cap, Bill Arce. The two of them got me admitted to, and some scholarship money from, Claremont McKenna College (it was called "Claremont Men's College" when I matriculated there). My experience there changed and directed my life.


Military service was limited to two years of ROTC, but marriage and children exempted me from the military--and Vietnam.


Marital status includes seventeen years of marriage to Kathy Petri ('66); three children (two boys, one girl); three grandchildren (two boys, one girl). I have been married for over 25 years to Barbara; no children. Hobbies include golf (mainly, on the Monterey Peninsula), travel and barbecue.


As far as civic involvement is concerned I was very active for decades in the San Jose/Silicon Valley Chamber of Commerce


Favorite sports?  Golf is my passion; was a gym rat and racquetball player for many years; get most of my exercise now through walking and light workouts.


Favorite movies of all time:  Not really into movies, but enjoy John Wayne and Clint Eastwood classics.


Educational experiences after high school include a Bachelor of Arts Degree, cum laude, from Claremont McKenna College and  Juris Doctor Degree from University of California, Berkeley, Boalt Hall School of Law. I was admitted to the California Bar in l967.


My career path included a brief stint with a large law firm in Los Angeles; then I started a law practice in San Jose in l969 and have been practicing business law and estate planning in San Jose since then.  I'm still working at least four days a week. Not sure if I'll ever completely retire. Working is underrated as a longevity device.